End of season #socialstudent

Congratulations to Hanif Leylabi, the clear #socialstudent winner – and to Lauren Hockey, Jazz Chappell and Michael White who have been ever-present in our 20 weekly tables.

For the final table of this academic year, we are expanding the list to include all 50 PR students from 13 universities with an aggregate score of 40 or above. While we won’t be updating our weekly ranking, the Klout and PeerIndex lists will continue to evolve, though many on the lists will complete their courses over the coming weeks.

Our hope and expectation is that employers will already be taking note of these high flyers. The league table has been fun – but it’s not as important as your dissertations and your graduate job search which should now take priority.

The stats are up-to-date at 7pm on 29 March 2012:

Rank Student name University (year) Twitter handle K PI Score
1  Hanif Leylabi  Sunderland (PG)  @hanifleylabi 64 53 58.5
2  Lauren Hockey  Gloucestershire (4)  @laurenvhockey 57 45 51
3  Kenneth Murray  QMU Edinburgh (3)  @kenny_murray 59 42 50.5
4  Charlotte Farringdon  Central Lancashire (3)  @charliegeorge1 55 45 50
5  Sarah Moffatt  Bournemouth (4)  @SarahMoff 49 49 49
6=  Stephanie Birch  Southampton Solent (2)  @StephBirchPR 55 42 48.5
6=  Alex Filicevas  Westminster (1)  @apaarty 54 43 48.5
6=  Emily Payne  Greenwich (3)  @emily_90 54 43 48.5
6=  Amandine Poirier  Southampton Solent (3)  @amandinepoirier 47 50 48.5
10=  Charlotte Brierley  Leeds Metropolitan (1)  @CharlotteVaun 45 51 48
10=  Lucy Hird  Birmingham City (3)  @LucyHird 56 40 48
10=  Ryan Mullen  Glasgow Caledonian (4)  @digitalies 50 46 48
10=  Adele Roberts  Leeds Metropolitan (2)  @_Adoll_ 44 52 48
14=  Yasin Akgun  Birmingham City (3)  @yasinakgun 55 40 47.5
14=  Chelsea Galpin  Leeds Metropolitan (1)  @ChelseaGalpinPR 52 43 47.5
16  Sean Ball  Leeds Metropolitan (2)  @seanprandm 49 45 47
17=  Jazz Chappell  Leeds Metropolitan (1)  @jazzchappell 55 38 46.5
17=  Olivia Sym  Leeds Metropolitan (2)  @LivSym 55 38 46.5
19=  Claire Hodson  Southampton Solent (3)  @clairehodson 57 35 46
19=  Michael White  Gloucestershire (4)  @michaelwhite1 51 41 46
21=  Stephanie Ayre  Leeds Metropolitan (3)  @Stephanie_Ayre 47 44 45.5
21=  Flavio Oliveira  Leeds Metropolitan (PG)  @FlaviOliveiraBR 60 31 45.5
21=  Tom Westgate  Southampton Solent (3)  @TomWestgate 48 43 45.5
21=  Steven Woodgate  Southampton Solent (PG)  @stevenwoodgate 50 41 45.5
25=  Ben Frith  Leeds Metropolitan (1)  @lookitsben 50 40 45
25=  Becky Knowles  Leeds Metropolitan (4)  @BeckyHelenK 50 40 45
27  Dan Derricott  Lincoln (4)  @danderricott 57 32 44.5
28  Lisa Addie  QMU Edinburgh (4)  @LisaAddie 48 39 43.5
29=  Megan Beard  Southampton Solent (2)  @meganb91 45 41 43
29=  Matt Briggs  Sunderland (PG)  @mattbriggspr 48 38 43
29=  Clare Callery  Leeds Metropolitan (4)  @claresiobhan 46 40 43
32=  Rachel Barkley  Leeds Metropolitan (2)  @rachelbarkley 40 45 42.5
32=  Rosie Everard  Leeds Metropolitan (4)  @RosieEverardPR 53 32 42.5
32=  Anton Perreau  Birmigham City (3)  @antonperreau 43 42 42.5
32=  Hannah Shanks  Leeds Metropolitan (4)  @hvshanks 55 30 42.5
36=  Amanda Champion  Leeds Metropolitan (1)  @mandachampion 45 39 42
36=  Malina Istatkova  Leeds Metropolitan (PG)  @LinskyIstatkova 53 31 42
36=  Petra Opelova  Central Lancashire (3)  @opelova 47 37 42
36=  Rebecca Moriarty  Bournemouth (4)  @RebeccaMoriarty 52 32 42
40=  Jasmine Bell  Leeds Metropolitan (3)  @JasmineBellPR 55 27 41
40=  Elisabeth Gjosund  London Metropolitan (2)  @egjosund 51 31 41
40=  Evie Ranscombe  Bournemouth (2)  @squevvles 42 40 41
43=  Emma Catchpole  Bournemouth (4)  @catch_89 53 28 40.5
43=  Jessica North  Bournemouth (3)  @JessicaNorthPR 47 34 40.5
43=  Alex Witham  Leeds Metropolitan (3)  @AlexWithamPR 50 31 40.5
43=  Jessica Yeoman  Gloucestershire (4)  @JessYeoman 46 35 40.5
47=  Laura Crimmons  Leeds Metropolitan (4)  @lauracrimmons 45 35 40
47=  Daniela Pietrosanu  Southampton Solent (3)  @DanielaOana 46 34 40
47=  Isobel Webb  Leeds Metropolitan (3)  @Isobel_Webb 50 30 40
47=  Hollie Young  Bournemouth (4)  @Hollie_Young 51 29 40

We introduced the #socialstudent list here, and updated it in week twoweek threeweek fourweek fiveweek sixweek sevenweek eightweek nineweek 10week 11week 12week 13week 14week 15week 16week 17week 18 and week 19.

Comments

  1. What are your views on these sites folks? Peer index and Klout scores seem to differentiate massively. Do you understand how these sites work? Or just take the score your activity gives you?

  2. We’re all learning about influence metrics. Here’s some of what I’ve learnt:

    I’m pleased to have introduced an objective ranking based on someone else’s numbers: a subjective league table of students on social media would surely give more credibility to blogs and websites.

    In my opinion, Klout tends to overestimate student scores (I’m 44; Philip Young @mediations is 35 – both lower than most students in our list). This is because Klout seems to favour quantity of tweets, and rates activity on Facebook highly.

    PeerIndex is harder to please for students. (I’m 45, Philip Young is 43.) What you’ll note is that my Klout and PeerIndex scores are very close and scarcely ever move. With the students we’ve been tracking, there’s been considerable volatility.

    I’m now taking a look at Kred and will give some thought about the metrics to use if I repeat #socialstudent next academic year.

  3. I think it’s great. I’m just curious as to what others think as 90% of my stuff is through Facebook.

Trackbacks

  1. […] End of season #socialstudent (March […]

  2. […] So please introduce yourself if you’d like to be included in this year’s competition and we’ll add you to the groups. Each week we’ll publish a league table of the leading students drawn from the Klout and PeerIndex groups. (For inspiration, here’s last year’s final ranking.) […]

Leave a comment